32年前から知っているソウル. In the 30 or more years I have known Seoul….

ハングルの日で学校がお休みになりました。ソウル歴史博物館で「3人の外国人の回想」の特別展を見てきました。展示されている写真や絵は1919Albert.W.Taylor, 1947Fred W.Dykesの二人のアメリカ人と1973―野村基之さんのものでした。3人ともソウルの生活が長くてそれぞれが感じたことを写真で見ると想像出来ました。私は1978年に初めてソウルを訪れました。野村さんの写真を見て昔のソウルを思い出しましました。あの頃の韓国はまだ貧しくて苦労されている方が多かったです。

帰りに銀杏の木が綺麗な道を通りました。そこでお昼の無料のジャズコンサートが開催されてお昼休憩の会社員たちがこのオアシスのようなところに足を止めて嬉しそうに聞いていました。

はい・・・ソウルはこの30年で変わりました!

。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

 

With a day off from classes I went to see the exhibition titled “Three Foreigners’ Reminiscences of Seoul at the Seoul Museum of History. The photographs and drawings on display were taken in periods from 1919-Albert.W.Taylor, 1947-Fred W.Dykes and 1973-Motoyuki Nomura. All photographers lived in Seoul for long periods and had their own particular styles.

The most recent exhibits by Motoyuki Nomura made me reminisce about the Seoul I first encountered when I visited in 1978. Seoul was far from a metropolitan city and life was hard for all Koreans.

On my way home from the Museum I walked down my favourite street with Ginko trees in bloom and stumbled across a fantastic lunch time Jazz performance. Workers piled out of their offices to take part in this little oasis in the middle of the concrete jungle that is now Seoul.

Yes, in the 30 years I have known Seoul it has changed!

Leave a Reply

