ANZACビスケットを作りながら平和に感謝をする Making ANZAC biscuits and thinking of peace….

今朝から台所で大奮闘しました。ANZAC biscuits(ビスケット)を作りました。ANZAC ビスケットはオーストラリア代表的なお菓子です。ANZACの意味はオーストラリアとニュー・ジーランド連合軍です。第一次世界大戦の時、遠い欧州で戦ったオーストラリア軍の為にオーストラリアの女性が愛する夫や息子に作って送ったお菓子なのでANZACビスケットとの名前が付きました。オートミール、ココナツやハチミツで出来た栄養満点で、愛する人の手に届くまで日持ちもしたそうです。私の母は農家育ちでした。その為、私は子供の時からおやつもお洋服は全部手作りでした。既製品のお洋服やお菓子も欲しかった。けど今となれば母の愛が理解出来るようになりました。久しぶりにお菓子を作りながら母や祖母の事を思いました。

早速出来上がったANZACビスケットを東京の友人に送りました。明日は、恒例の社員の誕生会です。社員の分も作って上げました。

大事な息子や夫を戦争に送らなくても良い世の中に感謝です・・・・

。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

I have been busy in the kitchen. This morning I made ANZAC biscuits. If you are not Australian you might not know what ANZAC biscuits are- ANZAC biscuits are the creation of Australian women during WW1,made and sent to their love ones who fought in the trenches of Europe. ANZAC biscuits are made of oatmeal, coconut and corn syrup, high in nutrition they also lasted the long journey required for sending from Australia. My mother was born and raised on a farm,when I was a child she made all my clothes and all snacks. ANZAC biscuits were a great favourite at home,as a child I wasn’t that thrilled with the home made EVERYTHING but now I am older I look back and realize how much my mother loved me. While I cooked this morning I thought about my mother and my grandmother….

A box of ANZAC biscuits have been sent to a friend in Tokyo and I have also made extras to give our employees tomorrow at the monthly birthday party we hold. I hope they like them….

I am so thankful I don’t have to send my sons and husband to war….

Leave a Reply

