The role of language in nationalism. ナショナリズムと言語の関連

Facebook logo Español: Logotipo de Facebook Fr...

Facebook logo Español: Logotipo de Facebook Français : Logo de Facebook Tiếng Việt: Logo Facebook (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the past two days I have had two people comment on my so called incorrect use of Japanese on Facebook. Ironically, I was correct and they were not. If they want to find grammar mistakes it might just be easier to look at other Japanese posts, because incorrect grammar is in abundance. I have been singled out because I am not Japanese. I found these comments regarding my so-called mistakes offensive to say the least, and I am finding myself question the role of language in nationalism. As you might expect, I will not be posting in Japanese for a while…

。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

この二日間の間に フェースブックで二人から私の間違えた日本語について指摘がありました。一回目の方は後で自分の間違えについて、誤ってくれました。つまり・・・私の日本語に問題がなかった。そして、一週間後に又指摘されました。今回も私の文法が正しかった。今朝、他の人から個別にメッセージが来て、私の日本語を又、指摘されました。ショックでした。 私の日本語は日本人と同様、間違える時もあるけど、英語も間違えます。しかし、そのように特別に指摘されるレベルでもないと思います。フェースブックで日本人は 結構間違えた書き込みもしています。

今、日本社会ではナショナリズムが非常に気になります。言語(国語)と

ナショナリスムの微妙な関連もあります。日本人だから日本語が上手と正しいと限らないと思います。しばらく、フェースブックで日本語のコメントはしたくありません。がっかり・・・

2 thoughts on “The role of language in nationalism. ナショナリズムと言語の関連

  1. Thank you! It would help if the language nazis were more helpful in pointing out a mistake….in my case there were no errors….even a foreigner can manage grammar better than a native speaker ….sometimes!!

Leave a Reply

