私の発表とラクダの背中 My presentation and the camel’s back

positive feedback virtuous circle

Image via Wikipedia

 

英語ではthe straw that broke the camel’s back と言うことわざもある、意味はらくだの背中にわらを積んで、積んで積んで積み重ね、最後に1本わらを積んだときにとうとうらくだの背が折れたという→

私にも一つの出来事が が 私の背中が折れたかも分かりまあせん・・・・

二日前、長い間掛けて 準備をした 発表を 60人前でしました。タイトルは 「人間の無限の可能性を追求する」でした。

50過ぎた私が 復学を通して の気づきを発表しました。発表後に「私は 復学を簡単に考えたけど 本当に苦労しましたね、感動しました、勇気を与えてくれた」などなど、のたくさんの言葉を掛けて頂きました。私としては発表をするのが苦手のほうなのに 満足でした。

懇親会は誰もしゃべらない 席に1人で座らせれ、なんとなく 「何で?」と思いました。3次会は 主人の隣に座った・・・

私の前に2次会の司会者の女性が座っていました。2次会では マイクを持ち「スーザンさん、スーザンさん」と言っていた。3次会で私が声を掛けようとしているところで 聞こえた・・・・なんと、彼女は私を向いて隣の女性に堂々と私のことを話すー「緊張する。何をしゃべったら 良いか分からない?」聞こえた。信じられなかった・・・ちょっと待ってよ・・・先まで 自信満々で司会者をしたでしょう?この会は10数年前から 夫の為に 一生懸命付き合って行く努力もしています。全国にある 会員では良い方も多いけど 私はこの 10数年、セクハラ、無視、区別、差別、英語の練習台,名前も呼び捨てと今回・・・私の顔を見て 平気で私のことを悪く言う神経に 私の背中が折れました。利他や フィロソフィーを中心に 勉強しているはずのに・・・・以前から、出席するのが 非常にストレスでした。無事で帰ることも ほとんど 有りません。夫を嫌う人は、彼の変わりに私にも嫌がらせもする。私も一人の人間、私にも気持ちがあります。いくら、夫のためと言っても 私も限度です・・・・

。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。The straw that broke the camel’s back. I think a recent event may have broken my back…….

2 days ago I gave a presentation for a group that JM and I have belonged to for over 10 years. The group bases its ideology on philanthropy in business and the Buddhist teaching of altruism.

Giving presentations is not something I find easy but after I finished I had lots of positive feedback which was very nice.

Then we had the dinner, I got to sit with people who hardly talked and away from anyone I knew….I thought if you gave a presentation you get to sit in a nice seat? Then there was a small after party.

BUT, it seems that every time I attend these meetings there is ALWAYS someone who wants to take me down a peg. I am fed up and even though I do it for my husband it has reached the stage where I can’t handle it anymore. Whether someone doesn’t like the fact that my Japanese is as good as my English (because they want to practice their crappy English) or someone who thinks they can sexually harass me ( yes…it does happen after 50!) etc etc…but this time it was a woman…………. the MC ( the woman ) kept thrusting the microphone in my face while she said nice things to me…asking me to talk…I complied. At the after-

Party, the MC sat in front of me. I was getting ready to have a chat, it was THEN that I noticed she was looking directly at me and saying to the woman next to her “ she makes me tense, I haven’t got a clue what I should say to her” …………….. in “polite Japan” she was talking directly about me???? A turn around after her politeness in front of everyone? OK, she doesn’t have to like me, and if my accomplishments have made her feel inadequate that is her problem not mine because I am actually quite easy to get along with…..BUT this is supposed to be polite Japan and someone does that??
I snapped, I have told JM that I will not attend these meetings anymore… what is the point? It is just too hurtful.

2 thoughts on “私の発表とラクダの背中 My presentation and the camel’s back

  1. まさかとは思いますが・・・
    彼女はテーブルの前の人物を見て・・・・
    「日本語ならわからないだろぅ」っと、、勘違いしていたのかも・・??
    きっと、自分が司会した講師が日本語で講演した事も・・??

    背中にサロンパス塗ってラクダ頑張って下さい。

  2. はい・・・そんな感じでした。非常にショックでしたけど ラクダは 馬鹿な人のことで くじけたら駄目と 思うようになりました(ひょっとして 夫の同情が効いたかも?)元気になりました。ありがとうございます。このラクダは 砂漠に挑戦する気になりました・・・・

Leave a comment